Gear List – Camino Portuguese

I walked the Camino Portuguese from June to July 2014 and walked through a heatwave of 40 degree weather for one week! This list reflects that time of the year, but if you’re going in cooler months, please see my Camino Frances packing list.
Starting from the bottom up…
CLOTHES
  • Shoes – I really don’t recommend boots for this walk and I wore my Salomon GTX XA PRO 3D shoes but I had problems with them because it was so hot. I would recommend a non-waterproof shoe for better breathability
  • Sandals – for shower and evening – I wore TEVA Tirra sandals
  • Socks x 3 – combination of lightweight and midweight merino socks depending on the weather
  • Hiking pants – Kiwi Pro-Stretch Craghoppers, lightweight, quick dry and comfortable – If I was to go again in summer I would just take a skirt/shorts and not long pants 
  • Shorts x 1, poly material, light, quickdry, zip pockets for money
  • Knee brace – For my dodgy knee
  • Underpants x 2 – I wore Icebreaker hipkini. Merino is great for breathability and quick dry
  • Shirts x 2 – 1 short-sleeve and 1 long-sleeve
  • Sports bra
  • Icebreaker sleeves – these are one of my favourite items. I wear them with short sleeve t-shirts and it saves me from constantly taking off and putting on a fleece, I can simply roll them down my arm if I get hot. Because it was hot, I was starting early in the mornings when it was cool and so appreciated having these sleeves with me (I wouldn’t take these again as I would use a long-sleeve top to walk in instead, better for sun protection and warmth)
  • Buff – to keep your neck warm, but can also be used as a hat, headband etc
  • Fleece
  • Rain gear – I took waterproof pants and my Macpack Event rain jacket. If I was to do it again I would probably just take a good poncho instead
  • Hat – I use a sports cap that fits under my rain jacket hood and helps to keep the rain off my face
  • Sunglasses
 
 BACKPACK & ACCESSORIES
  • Backpack – I used a Lowe Airzone Trek ND33-40, it’s lightweight and small
  • Backpack raincover (not necessary if using a poncho)
  • Backpack liner – I recommend using a dry bag inside your backpack for extra protection against rain, I have a 40 litre dry bag inside mine.
  • Dry bags inside pack to compartmentalise clothes
  • Guidebook
  • Ziplock bags – for keeping things like passport/guidebook/pilgrim’s passport etc dry and also good for storing leftover food if you cook. Pack as many as you can.
  • Water Container –  1 x 2 litre platypus water bottle
  • Walking poles – I used and love my PACER POLES
  • Utensils – spork & cup
  • Headlamp – recommend one that has a red light for using inside albergue dorm rooms
  • Alarm Clock – use phone/watch
  • Clothes Line – I have the lifeventure pegless clothes line and it is the most used item I own!
  • Towel: Ultralight Packtowel
  • Ear plugs – definitely a necessity in the albergues
  • Eye mask – good to use in albergues when headlamps are shining your way
  • Foldable daypackSea to summit Ultra Sil 20l pack
  • Sleeping Bag – I used a Western Mountaineering Summerlite – 525grams (for most of this walk I could have got away with just a sleeping bag liner but there were the occasional cold nights where I needed my sleeping bag and I’m glad I took it)
  • S hook – I took one from my dad’s garden and use it for hanging things up in showers when there are no hooks
  • Safety pins – for hanging wet clothes on your pack to dry
  
ELECTRONICS
  • Camera – I used a Sony RX 100 compact digital camera
  • Phone & headphones – I use my iPhone as a second camera and to listen to music
  • GPS – Garmin 62s
  • Chargers for camera & phone
  • Spare AAA batteries for my headlamp and AA batteries for the GPS
  • Adaptor plug for Europe
TOILETRIES & FIRST AID
  • Shampoo – I used a LUSH shampoo bar for hair and body and it lasts more than a month
  • Soap – multi-purpose soap for washing clothes, body, hair etc
  • Toothbrush – Kathmandu does small, folding and lightweight toothbrushes
  • Toothpaste – bring a small tube and you can always buy more
  • Toilet paper / tissues – inevitably you’ll have to go somewhere along the trail but please take your rubbish with you (easy to pack it out in a ziplock bag)
  • FirstAid Kit– bandaids, needle and thread, antiseptic cream, betadyne, ibuprofen, painkillers, sunscreen, lip balm, scissors, tweezers, Imodium, anti-histamine, antibacterial hand gel

18 responses to “Gear List – Camino Portuguese

  1. S hook, good idea! I also use the icebreaker sleeves – and legs as well. This year I only brought the legs which I as well could use as sleeves. I was on the Norte Mai/June 2013, and it was cold!

    Like

  2. Hi Kat,

    I’m doing the Camino from Porto to Santiago at the end of August and wondered if you had any shoe recommendations? I saw you said your shoes were too hot, would you recommend a good running shoe instead? Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmmm, not really. I used to wear Marmot but they tore around the knees quite quickly so now I have north face but I haven’t had to wear them that much. I used a rain skirt on the PCT and loved it so I’ll probably try to use this or a poncho going forward.

      Like

  3. Thank you so much for this blog with plenty of useful info. You are obviously not into complaining👍🏻.

    One question. You mention a spray against bed bugs. I’ll buy it in Portugal. You would not happen to remember the name?

    Thanks and happy trails!

    Bob Abspoel

    Like

    • Hi Bob,
      I’m so glad you’ve found it useful 🙂 I can’t find the original bottle of the spray, but I’m not sure I would recommend it now anyway after using it on the Camino Frances last Nov and still being bitten by bed bugs! I’m heading back to walk another camino in Sept and this time I’m carrying a pre-treated sheet from LifeSystems and I may also carry a small bottle of permethrin – call me unlucky but I’ve had too many first-hand experiences with the little annoying bugs!
      Buen Camino!

      Like

  4. I am walking from Porto to Santiago this June. It is my first camino and I need help figuring out how far I can walk each day and where I can stay. Is there a list of albergues in each town.??

    Like

    • Hi Christine, have you thought about which path you want to take from Porto – the Coastal (via Vila do Conde, Viana do Castelo…) or the Central (via Barcelos, Ponte de Lima…)? They are both quite different, the central path is inland through lush green villages (and sometimes hilly) whereas the coastal is flatter with options to walk directly by the sea. There is more frequent pilgrim accommodation (albergues) along the central route but the coastal has lots of hotels and as long as you’re there before the peak summer season then it shouldn’t be hard to stay without booking.

      Like

  5. Hi Kat!

    I love your blog! I am actually going to be following your root of the Portuguese Camino in a few days! I have done the Camino from Spain with a school group many years ago. I am finally going on my own! I’m really excited, but hate packing with a passion. Last time I went, I remember there always being washers to clean my clothes. Did a lot of the albergues have them when you went or did you wash your clothes in the sink? Just trying to figure out what to bring to wash my clothes with.

    Thank you!!!

    -Elizabeth

    Like

    • Hi, lucky you!! More and more albergues are installing washing machines and dryers but there are still heaps without and if you want to wash your clothes you’ll most likely be handwashing them more than anything. At least being summer quick-drying hiking gear will dry in minutes! Have a pastel de nata (or 5) for me and Bom Caminho!!

      Like

  6. Hi Kat really enjoy your blog and reading your Camino P book. Heading to Porto mid September and have just bought meindl vortex shoes and having a panic about breathability. I’ll just have to hope for the best. Do you have any advice on lightweight socks? Thanks a million Jane x

    Like

    • Hi Jane,
      Thanks!! 😊
      I’ve been wearing Darn Tough merino socks (since I walked the PCT in 2015) and they work really well for me. There are so many different brands of socks out there but I would just recommend lightweight merino as September can still be hot. If it is hot while you’re walking, remember to try and take your shoes off each time you stop during the day to let your feet breathe and Bom Caminho! x

      Like

Comments or questions? Go for it!